Sound Recording Advice for the Home Recording Studio Sound Recording Advice for the Home Recording Studio Sound Recording Advice for the Home Recording Studio Contact John Volanski via e-mail at: soundadvice@johnvolanski.com
 
Read and excerpt from the book Sound Recording Advice.
Sound Recording Advice - THE book for the serious Home Recording Studio enthusiast.
Buy the book on-line via PayPal, or by fax or mail
Includes a new 44-page Addendum for 2014 plus the latest 2014 equipment recommendations.

Contact John via email to get
the latest list of recommended equipment for every budget.

 


 
"I wish this book was around 10 years ago, because it would have saved me a lot of time.”
 
Larry Crane
Editor
Tape Op Magazine
 
 
"I do believe that "Sound Recording Advice" is an excellent and valuable reference, and it's our pleasure to help share it with our readers.”

Matt Mrowicki
Publisher
Chorus and Verse


 
 
Sound Recording Advice home page
Tips for the Home Recording Studio
Frequently Asked Questions about home studio recording
Setting up a home recording studio
Audio recording examples
About the book Sound Recording Advice - contents, excerpts, errata
About John J. Volanski
Resource Links related to home recording studios
Press-related information and book images
Over 200 useful studio, music and recording links including audio recording equipment manufacturers, electronic parts and components suppliers, online new and used music equipment vendors, and recording industry magazines.
 
Site index for the Sound Recording Advice website.
 
 
Over 200 useful studio, music and recording links including audio recording equipment manufacturers, electronic parts and components suppliers, online new and used music equipment vendors, and recording industry magazines.


Links for Studio, Recording, Music, Equipment, Manufacturer and Electronic Components sites.

This page contains many useful links to the sites of:
 
   • Manufacturers of studio-related equipment
   • On-line equipment vendors
   • Electronic parts & components suppliers
   • Recording-related magazines
   • Studio, music & equipment-related sites


MANUFACTURERS OF MUSIC STUDIO-RELATED EQUIPMENT:
 
360 Systems (www.360systems.com) - hard disk-based digital audio recorders/players.
Acoustic First (www.acousticsfirst.com) - Materials to control sound and eliminate noise.
Acoustical Solution (www.acousticalsolutions.com) - Acoustic products for space treatment.
 
  view moreclick

AKG (www.akg.com) - Microphones & headphones.
Alesis (www.alesis.com) - Recorders, mixers, processors, synthesizers, monitors, amplifiers.
American Micro Industries (www.soundprooffoam.com) - Global supplier of soundproof studio foam and other soundproofing accessories
Antares Audio (www.antarestech.com) - Auto-tune processors for pitch correction.
Anthro (www.anthro.com) - modular computer furniture.
Aphex (www.aphex.com) - Exciters, compressors, equalizers.
Argosy Console (www.argosyconsole.com) - Studio furniture.
Ashly audio (www.ashly.com)- Mixers, crossovers, equalizers, amplifiers.
Audix (www.audixusa.com) - Microphones.
Auralex Acoustics (www.auralex.com) - Sound & noise control materials
BBE Sound (www.bbesound.com) - Sonic Maximizer processors.
Behringer (www.behringer.com) - Mixers, recorders, processors, equalizers.
Big Fish Audio (www.bigfishaudio.com) - Sample libraries.
Bitheadz (www.bitheadz.com) - Professional music software.
Bryco products (www.brycoproducts.com) - Storage racks and cabinets.
Cakewalk (www.cakewalk.com) - Music & sound software for Windows.
Carvin (www.carvin.com) - Guitars, basses, mixers, amplifiers, sound systems.
CreamWare (www.creamware.com) - DSP and modeling software.
Crest (www.crestaudio.com) - Mixers, speakers, amplifiers.
Dana B. Goods (www.danabgoods.com) - Guitars, basses, amps.
dbx (www.dbxblueseries.com) - Pro audio processors.
Denon Electronics USA (www.denon.com) - Professional recorders & headphones.
Designcraft (www.designcraftusa.com) - Manufacturer of studio furniture.
Digidesign (www.digidesign.com) - Digital recording hardware & software.
Disk Makers (www.diskmakers.com) - CD, cassette & vinyl manufacturing.
Earthworks Precision Audio (www.earthworksaudio.com) - Microphones, preamps, monitors.
Edirol (www.edirol.com) - Desktop media production tools.
Emagic (www.emagic.de) - Software & hardware for digital audio production.
E-MU (www.emu.com) - Keyboards, samplers, sound modules.
Eventide (www.eventide.com) - Harmonizers and effects processors.
Fairlight (www.fairlight.net) - Digital recorders, mixers, DAWs.
FMR Audio (www.fmraudio.com) - Best compressor under $200.
Focusrite (www.focusrite.com) - High-end mic preamps and compressors.
Fostex (www.fostex.com) - Digital recorders, monitors, headphones.
Furman Sound (www.furmansound.com) - Power conditioners and regulators.
Gefen (www.gefen.com) - Connectivity and sound effects solutions.
Generalmusic (www.generalmusic.com) - Digital keyboards and Pro audio.
Gulbransen (www.gulbransen.com) - MIDI sensor strip for piano/organ.
Hafler (www.hafler.com) - Amplifiers & monitors.
HHB (www.hhbusa.com) - Recorders, monitors, tube processors.
Hosa Tech (www.hosatech.com) - Cables, adapters, accessories.
JBL (www.jblpro.com) - Monitors & loudspeakers.
Jensen Transformers (www.jensen-transformers.com) - Transformers & direct boxes.
Joemeek (www.joemeek.com) - Compressors, mic preamps, equalizers.
Korg (www.korg.com) - Keyboards & digital recorders.
KRK Systems (www.krksys.com) - Monitors.
Kurzweil (www.kurzweilmusicsystems.com) - Keyboards, modules, effects processors.
Lexicon (www.lexicon.com) - Signal processors.
McIntosh Labs (www.mcintoshlabs.com) - High-end audio products including speakers, amplifiers, preamplifiers, integrated amplifiers and processors.
Mackie Designs (www.mackie.com) - Mixers, monitors, digital recorders.
Mark of the Unicorn (www.motu.com) - Audio/MIDI hardware, synchronizers, pro software.
M-Audio (www.m-audio.com) - Monitors, MIDI, mixers, mics, preamps.
Middle Atlantic Products (www.middleatlantic.com) - Studio furniture, racks, enclosures.
Midiman (www.midiman.net) - MIDI-related equipment.
MilesTek (www.milestek.com) - Racks, cabinets, power, tools, networking.
Neumann USA (www.neumannusa.com) - Microphones
NHT Pro (www.nhtpro.com) - Monitors & loudspeakers.
Nigel B (www.nigelb.com) - Studio rack furniture.
Nord (www.clavia.se) - Digital musical instruments.
Novation (www.novationusa.com) - Digital musical instruments.
Omnirax (www.omnirax.com) - Studio furniture and racks.
PAiA (www.paia.com) - Low-cost, user-assembled kits for the studio.
Panasonic Pro Audio Group (www.panasonic.com) - Mixers, speakers, amps, D/As.
Popless Voice Screens (www.popfilter.com) - Mic pop screens.
PreSonus (www.presonus.com) - Mic preamps and dynamics processors.
QSC Audio Products (www.qscaudio.com) - Amplifiers, signal processors, speakers.
Quantegy (www.quantegy.com) - Blank media for audio/video/data.
Quik Lok (www.quiklok.com) - Stands and support for studio and stage.
Ramsey (www.ramseykits.com) - Audio, test and hobby electronics kits.
Rane (www.rane.com) - Compressors, limiters, EQ, headphone amps, mixers, preamps.
Raxxess (www.raxxess.com) - Studio furniture, racks, stands.
Rode Microphones (www.rodemicrophones.com) - Microphones.
Roland (www.rolandus.com) - Musical instruments, digital recorders, processors, speakers, drums, sound reinforcement, instrument amps.
Sabine (www.sabine.com) - Wireless mic systems, feedback eliminators, signal processors, tuners, metronomes, riff recorders.
Samson (www.samsontech.com) - Wireless systems, EQ, headphones, mics, loudspeakers, mixers, power amps, power distribution, audio processors.
Sennheiser Electronic Instruments (www.sennheiserusa.com) - mics, headphones and wireless systems.
Shure (www.shure.com) - Mics, wireless systems, in-ear monitors, mixers.
Sony (www.sony.com) - recorders and signal processors.
Spacewise (www.spacewise.com) - Studio furniture.
Synhouse (www.synhouse.com) - MIDI retrofit for analog synthesizers.
Tannoy (www.tannoy.com) - Active & passive monitors, subwoofers.
Tascam (www.tascam.com) - Analog & Digital recorders, digital mixers.
TC Electronics (www.tcelectronic.com) - Signal processors, A/D, D/A, compressors.
TC Works (www.tcworks.de) - Audio production software and plug-ins.
Ultimate Ears (www.ultimateears.com) - Personal monitoring systems.
Ultimate Support Systems (www.ultimatesupport.com) - Stage & studio racks, stands, furniture.
Winsted Furniture Systems (www.winsted.com) - Studio furniture systems.
Yamaha (www.yamaha.com) - Digital & analog recorders & mixers, musical instruments, power amps, signal processors, headphones, computer drives.
Yorkville Sound (www.yorkville.com) - Loudspeakers, mixers, power & instr amps.
Zoom (www.samsontech.com) - Digital recorders, signal processors, drum machines, rhythm machines, guitar amp/cabinet modelers.

 return to top   

 

ON-LINE EQUIPMENT VENDORS:
 
8th Street Music (www.8thstreet.com)
Acoustical Solutions (www.acousticalsolutions.com) sound and noise reduction products
American Music (www.americanmusic.com)
American Musical Supply (www.americanmusical.com)
 
  view moreclick

Audio Village (www.audiovillage.org)
Big City Music (www.bigcitymusic.com)
Broadcast Supply Worldwide (www.bswusa.com)
Caruso Music (www.carusomusic.com)
Daddy's Junky Music (www.daddys.com)
eBay (www.ebay.com)
Filament Audio (www.filamentaudio.com)
Full Compass (www.fullcompass.com)
Gear Tree (www.geartree.com) - Guitars & Music Gear
Grandma's Music & Sound (www.grandmas.com)
Guitar Center (www.guitarcenter.com)
HTICS Pro Audio (www.hticsproaudio.com)
Industrial Liquidators (www.industrialliquidators.com)
Interstate Music (www.interstatemusic.com)
Kraft Music (www.kraftmusic.com)
L & M Music (www.lmmusic.com)
Lentine's Music (www.lentines.com)
Manny's Music (www.mannysmusic.com)
Midiwarehouse (www.midiwarehouse.com)
Musician's Friend (www.musiciansfriend.com)
Music Go Round (www.musicgoround.com) - Buy, sell or trade used music and recording equipment here.
Music Hot Bid (www.musichotbid.com)
New Music Equipment (www.newmusicequipment.com) - online musical instrument and equipment store featuring the lowest prices and secure online shopping
Oak Tree Enterprises (www.oaktreeent.com)
Odyssey Pro Sound (www.odysseyprosound.com)
PJ Electronics (www.PJElectronics.net) - Specializing in selling music software, hardware, and complete systems for today’s home musician.
Pro Audio Toys (www.proaudiotoys.com) - Featuring ADK Microphones, Sytek Preamps, RealTraps Acoustic Treatment, and other studio equipment not in typical pro audio stores.
ProCo Sound (www.procosound.com)
ProMusicFind (www.promusicfind.com)
Pro-Rec.com (www.pro-rec.com)
Rogue Music (www.roguemusic.com)
Sam Ash (www.samash.com)
Shreve Audio (www.shreveaudio.com)
Silent Source (www.silentsource.com)
Smarthome (www.smarthome.com)
Sweetwater Sound (www.sweetwater.com)
Synthony (www.synthony.com)
The Electric Keyboard (www.electrickeyboard.com)
Universal Recording Supplies www.universaltapes.com
West L.A. Music (www.westlamusic.com)
Westlake Audio (www.westlakeaudio.com)
Zzounds (www.zzounds.com)

 return to top   

 

ELECTRONIC PARTS & COMPONENTS SUPPLIERS:
 
All Electronics (www.allelectronics.com)
BTX (Bi-Tronics) (www.btx.com)
Cyberguys (www.cyberguys.com)
Digi-Key (www.digikey.com)
 
  view moreclick

Electronix Express (www.elexp.com)
Gateway Electronics (www.gatewayelex.com)
Green Dot Audio Electronics (www.greendotaudio.com)
Jameco Electronics (www.jameco.com)
Marlin P. Jones & Associates (www.mpja.com)
MCM Electonics (www.mcmelectronics.com)
Mouser (www.mouser.com)
Parts Express (www.partsexpress.com)
SuperCircuits (www.supercircuits.com)
Tech America (www.techam.com)
Velleman (www.velleman.be)

 return to top   

 

RECORDING-RELATED MAGAZINES:
 
Bass Player (www.bassplayer.com)
Blues Freepress Publishing (www.bluesfreepress.org.uk)
Computer Music (www.computermusic.co.uk)
Electronic Musician (www.emusician.com)
 
  view moreclick

EQ (www.eqmag.com)
Keyboard (www.keyboardmag.com)
Mix (www.mixonline.com)
Modern Drummer (www.moderndrummer.com)
Pro Audio Review (www.proaudioreview.com)
Pro Sound News (www.prosoundnews.com)
Recording Magazine (www.recordingmag.com)
Sound On Sound (www.sospubs.co.uk)
Tape Op (www.tapeop.com) - Free magazine covers tape-based recording.

 return to top   

 

STUDIO, MUSIC & EQUIPMENT-RELATED SITES:
 
All About analog Tape Recorders
   (arts.ucsc.edu/ems/music/equipment/analog_recorders/Analog_Recorders.html)
All Things MiniDisc (www.minidisc.org) - Covers everything related to MiniDisc.
Audio Courses for Studio Recording (www.audiocourses.com)
Audio Engineering Society (www.aes.org) - Professional society for Audio Engineers.
 
  view moreclick

Audio Recording Center (www.audio-recording-center.com) - Resource for analog, digital, home demo, sound software, studios and other recording information.
Caig Laboratories (www.caig.com) - Chemicals for your studio equipment.
Cassette House (www.tape.com) - Source for blank recording media.
Chorus & Verse (www.chorusandverse.com) totally covers all things music
CompuFind Schematics (www.compufind.com/schem.html) - Source for schematics.
Conservatory of Recording Arts (www.audiorecordingschool.com) - Institution for audio education in Arizona.
Country Grapevine (www.www.countrygrapevine.com)- Bluegrass, Gospel, Acoustic, Nashville and all things related to Country Music.
Digital Audio World (www.digitalaudioworld.com) - Digital audio and recording articles, equipment recommendations.
Digital Music Museum (www.digitalmusicmuseum.com) - Digital Music Museum profiles over 50 of the leading portable MP3 players on the market.
Dolby Labs (www.dolby.com) - Professional/consumer noise reduction systems.
Free City Media (www.freecitymedia.com) - independent music label and online ezine
Guitar Effects Web Page (www.geofex.com)
GuitarSite (www.guitarsite.com) - up-to-date online source for guitarists & guitar lovers
Harmony Central (www.harmony-central.com) - Huge site for music and recording.
Head Fidelity (www.head-fi.org) - Site dedicated to headphones and portable audio.
HeadWize (www.headwize.com) - Headphone resources
Heart of the Rock (www.heartoftherock.com) - focuses on melodic rock music
Hip Hop Rap Beats Producer www.hip-hop-producer.com/
Home Recording Connection www.homerecordingconnection.com/ - Excellent resource for the recording musician with recording tips and an active message forum.
Ilikemusic (www.ilikemusic.com) - online ezine that gets insider view of the music scene
KVR Audio (www.kvraudio.com) - online community and news site for popular Audio Plug-in formats
Long Sought for Sound (www.lsfsound.com) - offers recording services, pre-amp sales and more. Check out their section on home made studio construction.
Mac Music (www.macmusic.org) - Music, audio, MIDI for the Mac computer
Mediatechnics (www.mediatechnics.com) - CD and DVD automated duplication equipment and services
Microphones and Recording (www.recording-microphones.co.uk) - Microphone reviews and recording tips from two professional sound engineers.
MIDI Farm (www.midifarm.com) - Great source for MIDI information.
MIDI World (www.midiworld.com) - Resource for all things MIDI.
Mid-Ocean School of Media Arts (www.midoceanschool.ca) - Private vocational school offering audio production full-time and part-time courses.
Modern Recording (www.modernrecording.com) - Premier site for audio & sound.
Mozart Effect Theory (www.entertainmentcenterspot.com/guide-to-the-mozart-effect) - a study on the Mozart Effect Theory and whether it makes people smarter
MP3 Encoders & Decoders (www.jumbo.com)
Music123 (www.music123.com) Musical instruments and reviews. Lowest price guarantee and free shipping on many items.
Music Industry News Network (www.mi2n.com) - music & recording industry news
Music Machines (machines.hyperreal.org) - Home of music electronica.
Music Production (www.modernbeats.com) - ModernBeats Hit Talk teaches online music production to aspiring musicians and music producers.
Musical Discoveries (www.musicaldiscoveries.com) - site dedicated to female vocalists
Musicians Earplugs (www.etymotic.com)
Musicians Exchange Used Gear (musicians.about.com) - Huge site for musicians including buying used gear.
Musicians Tech Central (www.musicianstechcentral.com) - Music and Recording information. Excellent resource for home recording information.
National Association for Music Education (www.menc.org)
New & Used Gear Search Tool (www.gearsearch.com) - Find your gear here.
NewMusicBox (www.newmusicbox.org)- ezine covering everything in American music
Nuts & Volts Magazine (www.nutsvolts.com) - Subscribe to this magazine to learn more about electronics.
Onyx Soundlab (www.OnyxSoundlab.com) - Premier Connecticut production and recording studio.
PC Power and Cooling (www.pcpowerandcooling.com) - Solutions for powering and cooling your PC computer.
Prepal Used Equipment Prices (www.prepal.com) - Tracks 3500 used equipment prices.
Recording Connection (www.recordingconnection.com) - Provides on-the-job training in major recording studios.
Recycler (www.recycler.com) - Forum to buy and sell used equipment.
SAE Institute of Technology (www.sae.edu) - Educational institution for audio and multimedia.
Sams Photofacts (www.samswebsite.com) - Great source for equipment schematics.
Smarthome (www.smarthome.com) - Security and surveillance equipment.
Soundcheck (www.soundcheck.dk)- site in Denmark covering instruments & equipment
Sound Ideas & Westar Music (www.sound-ideas.com)- professional quality royalty-free sound effects for motion picture sound, game developers, multimedia, video, sound and music design, radio, television, and web developers
Splicit Reel Audio Products (www.splicit.com) - audio recording tape and all the supplies that go with it
Studio At Home (www.studioathome.com) - Board for audio homestudio users
Studiofreaks (www.studiofreaks.com) - Music & Synth site in Belgium
Studio Recording Engineer (www.studiorecordingengineer.com) - instruction program for your PC
Synth Zone (www.synthzone.com) - Synthesizer & electronic music production resource.
Synthesizers.com (www.synthesizers.com) - Modular analog music synthesizer source.
Synthfool (Kevin Lightner's Site) (www.synthfool.com) - Great source of info on all things synthesizer.
TAXI(www.taxi.com) - A&R company helping unsigned bands, artists and songwriters get record deals, publishing deals and placement in films and TV shows.
The Synthmuseum (www.synthmuseum.com/index.html) - Vintage synthesizers.
WholeNote (www.wholenote.com) - online guitar community - everything guitars
X-10 (www.x10.com) - Security and surveillance equipment.

 return to top   

 

Pacific Beach Publishing
E-mail:
 
Home  •  Tips  •  FAQs  •  Studio  •  Audio  •  Book  •  Purchase the Book
Author  •  Press Info  •  Links  •  Contact Us  •  Sitemap
 

Website design by Orangeport Studios